The Good Fight Season 1: An absence of Florricks

My predominant obsession this year has been The Good Wife. I was late to the party and from January this year until the end of June, I shot through all seven seasons. If I calculate the amount of time I’ve spent on it. 7 seasons x 22 episodes x 40 minutes each= 100+ hours. That’s proper mental.

As I was coming to the end, I consoled myself that. it. was. ok. The Good Wife has a sequel spin-off called The Good Fight. I would still have Diane Lockhart in my life for another 10 hours, maybe even Cary would come to visit. It would fill in that Florrick-shaped hole in my heart.

I have to say, hand on heart, that it’s not the same.

The Good Fight Review

The Good Fight continues on with the adventures of Diane Lockhart after she’s lost all her money in a ponzi scheme. She then leaves her firm to join an African-American firm called Reddick, Boseman and Kolstad.

The Good Fight should be judged on its own merits but ultimately can’t be separated from its sister series so be prepared for a lot of comparison.

It’s a much more subdued show
Everything about The Good Fight is so much quieter. Even Diane Lockhart is a shadow of her former self, I’m not sure why they call it The Good Fight because it feels like they’ve completely defanged her.
The storylines are also more character driven. In The Good Wife, it always seemed like the producers, the Kings, were constantly spinning plates in the air, a balancing act of driving three plots at the one time. The Good Fight doesn’t really try to do this at all.

Even the colour palette is quieter, the new offices are completely in muted blues and greys. It’s the first thing I noticed adjusting from the hyper orange-brown spaces of Florrick & Agos. It sets itself up to be a completely different show, it’s not a bad thing necessarily but it takes adjustment.

The humour is completely out of place
The Good Wife was funny when it wanted to be, there were two things that it did particularly well – physical comedy and quirky side characters. I have no idea why The Good Fight decided to take this one aspect and try to apply it to their own. It doesn’t work. It’s such a serious show, that humour that isn’t witty repartee is just jarring. They brought back Elsbeth Tascioni, the bubble-headed, quirky lawyer to lighten the mood but she just doesn’t fit.

On the other hand, office politics..
With only 10 episodes, the time constraints meant that they couldn’t keep reshuffling the name partners of the firm for plot’s sake. I’m so grateful for this. All in all, Reddick, Boseman and Kolstad seem so much more functional than Lockhart, Gardner. Possibly Will and Diane were actually really shitty managers.

Sometimes it’s a little on the nose
There were a lot of Trump mentions.

The acting is still amazing
They pick the best of the best you know? With the one exception of this young Asian lawyer (you’ll know who I’m talking about when you see her), the acting is still phenomenal. Delroy Lindo, Cush Jumbo and Rose Leslie do amazing work. Rose Leslie particularly sells me as the anxious, newly-minted lawyer. I kind of like that she’s not sold as a court genius, just a solid worker.

In a fight to the death?
I would still go The Good Wife. There’s some catching up to do for The Good Fight to get there and settle its own identity. Lucky for us all, CBS has renewed it for season 2.

Leave a Reply

