Zack Snyder exits Justice League to deal with family tragedy

It’s all fun and games here at Pop Culture Snacks today. I believed that when I first started this blog, that I would be mostly covering Kardashians. I don’t know what happened, the Kardashians dropped off and everything got heavy. Come back Kim.

Zack Snyder Justice League

The news out today is that Director Zack Snyder has dropped out of Justice League. It was little known that his daughter Autumn died by suicide in March, he and his wife Deborah (a producer on the film) are taking some time out to heal and spend some time with his other kids. In the meantime, Joss Whedon is taking over directing duties on Justice League.

The demands of this job are pretty intense. It is all-consuming. And in the last two months, I’ve come to the realisation … I’ve decided to take a step back from the movie to be with my family, be with my kids, who really need me. They are all having a hard time. I’m having a hard time – Zack Snyder

I’m going to pre-emptively say this, because I feel some DC fanboys coming out to party that their movie is “saved” because of his exit: Don’t dance on this girl’s grave for your fandom. Cheering for this kind of thing makes you a lousy human being so back off.

Leave a Reply

