First look at Daisy Ridley as Ophelia

A couple of months ago, I read that Daisy Ridley was going to play Ophelia, the tragic heroine from Shakespeare’s Hamlet. It’s said to be based on a popular novel (not the play) and when I went to go research more, the literal description of the book was “The reimagined story of Ophelia, what if Ophelia didn’t die at the end of Hamlet?” and then I rolled my eyes so hard that no surgery could ever realign my eyes back to where they were.

I’m going to be kind (now) and give it the benefit of the doubt and pray that it doesn’t give arise to more adaptations of “What if Darth Vader/Mufasa/Titanic Jack didn’t die?”

Here are the first pics out from Cannes of Daisy Ridley as Ophelia. I admit, she looks pretty great. It’s so very close to the paintings. Still not sure about this movie though.

ophelia_first_look_2017

Ophelia Art

Leave a Reply

